Coming back with a Cobra Kiss

I hate to have been away from the site so long and miss two truly excellent MxMo’s. Sadly pneumonia in January was followed by diving into Fallout 4 and Destiny to appease my inner nerd. Between all this and work however I didn’t stop mixing. It’s nice to be back in the outrigger and sharing the fruits of my drunken labor with you all. So to begin let me share with you a recipe I made a few months back that sits right up there in my books with some of the best things I’ve ever made.

Cobra Kiss (1)
It seems I’ve had an obsession for awhile now with pairing cognac and rum. In truth it’s because I find them to be amazingly complimentary to each other. Cognac is very rich and full it provides a nice frame to add flavors to. Suze is an ingredient not seen in classic Tiki cocktails, nor is it seen much in modern ones. I think this is a shame as a dash of it can really provide a special touch of color, flavor, and mouth feel. They all come together very well here. If you don’t have Mahina De Coco I really suggest seeking it out. Unsweetened coconut milk might get you close, but won’t get you the real thing. As for the name what can I say. I love snakes and if I really love a drink it gets a snake name.

Cobra Kiss (2)

Cobra’s Kiss
1 ½ oz Camus (VS Cognac)
½ oz Coruba (Dark Jamaican Rum)
½ oz Clement Mahina de Coco
¼ oz Suze
¾ oz lime juice
½ oz cinnamon syrup
dash Elemakule Bitters

Shake ingredients well and pour into a rocks glass, garnish with pineapple flags and a cherry.

 

The nose is very rich in tropical fruit notes of mango guava, and coconut. This folds into wafts of citrus and spicy notes with just a hint of lavender. The drink is the epitome of balance slight hints of fruit and pepper waft into fuller and richer flavors by the minute. The mouth-feel is very rich and coats your palate well, however it never comes over to sweet or to heavy. The fruity, spicy, flavors sizzle into citrusy, sour notes before exploding into a rich, creamy, coconut and a big rummy finish with strong cognac notes. This is definitely in my top three of personal favorites on the site. Personally I like to add a straw to mine even though it looks awkward in the short glass.

 

Well I am glad I could get this little potion out in time to toast Tiki Month. In case your living under a rock get your ass to Pegu Blog and check out all the great stuff from my friend Doug Winship. Until next time…

 

“You Get Hammered America!” – JFL

About JFL

Joey or JFL as he is known by friends is a culinary trained mixologist from the Heart of Dixie Birmingham, Alabama. From a weekly column in the St. Clair News Aegis to his own experiments online JFL never stops doing work on Tiki and Cocktails. When he's not studying all things spirit, wine, and beer he's pursuing his own odd interests such as cartoons, cheesy old horror movies, horror punk, hair metal, and hockey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Coming back with a Cobra Kiss

  1. Hey! Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Liebster Award — you can check out the rules and such here: http://www.boozynewsie.com/2016/04/27/liebster-award/ As it’s pretty much a chain letter, please feel free to ignore, but just wanted to let you know I love reading your posts and look forward to reading more!

Leave a comment